Skip to main content
Mitratech Success Center

Data Retention

Retention Policies is the area of Management Studio where you can create and manage Data Retention Policies. The Data Retention Policy Schedules are created and maintained in the Configurations area of Management Studio. See “Retention Policy” for more information on creating Retention Policy Schedules.

Data Retention Policies define how the data which is to be deleted, is identified. They also define how to determine if the data has been stored for the maximum amount of time and should be deleted.

Refresh

Click the Refresh button to refresh the display of the Active or Completed retention policies (see “Show Completed/Show Active).

View

Click the View button to change the way the list of Retention Policies (either Completed or Active - see “Show Completed/Show Active) is displayed. Alternatively, select one of the following views from the menu which is displayed when the View menu button is clicked. image

Large Icons

Each Retention Policy is displayed as a large icon with the Name under the icon.

Details

Each Retention Policy is displayed with the Name, whether or not it is enabled and the data to be remove listed (as shown in the above example).

Tile

Each Retention Policy is displayed as a tile with the Name, whether or not it is enabled and the data to be remove listed to the right of the tile.

Show Completed/Show Active

Click Show Completed to view the list of completed Retention Policies. Click Show Active to view the list of active Retention Policies.

New

Click New to create a new Retention Policy. The Retention Policy Editor is opened.

image

The Retention Policy Editor options are described in Table 26.

Table 26. Terminology: Retention Policy Editor

Term

Meaning

Criteria tab

Policy Name

Enter a name for the Retention Policy which will make it easily identifiable.

Description

If required, enter a description of the Retention Policy.

Enabled

Select Enabled to make the Retention Policy take effect as soon as it is saved.

Clear the Enabled tick-box if you do not want the Retention Policy to take effect when it is saved. (It can be Enabled at a later time by editing the Retention Policy.)

One time use

Select One time use if you want this Retention Policy to be moved to the list of Completed Retention Policies once it has successfully been run once.

Clear One time use if you would like this Retention Policy to remain in the list of Active Retention Policies. It will be checked and data deleted (according to the Policy) until it is cancelled.

Choose Search Template

Click the Choose Search Template button if you want the Retention Policy to delete data based on Criteria from a Search Template.

Select the required Search Template. The search fields are displayed, enabling you to set the search criteria for the Retention Policy.

When a Retention Policy is created for a Search Template which uses document versions, a message is displayed indicating which versions the Search Template is set to search for. For example

* Please note: This Search Template has been configured to search for specific document versions and is currently set to search for ‘latest version only’.

This will affect how documents are deleted. For example, if the Search Template is configured to search for the latest version only, when the Retention Policy starts, the latest version will be deleted. The previous version is then the latest version. The next time the Retention Policy runs, that version is deleted and the previous version becomes the latest version. This continues until all versions are deleted (assuming each version meets the deletion criteria).

When the Search Template is set to search for all versions, all versions are deleted when the Retention Policy is run (assuming each version meets the deletion criteria).

Choose Data Definition

Click the Choose Data Definition button if you want the Retention Policy to delete data based on Criteria from a Data Definition.

Select the required Data Definition. The Index fields are displayed, enabling you to set the search criteria for the Retention Policy.

Criteria Type

Calculated Date – the date on which the specified data is removed is calculated using the values configured for Remove data when the current date is at least and after.

Specific Date – the specified data is removed on the date provided.

Remove data when the current date is at least

Enter a number in the text box. Then select either Years, Months or Days as appropriate from the drop-down list.

For example, to delete the specified data after 10 months, type 10 in the text box and select Months from the drop-down list.

after

Choose field to use:

Available date and time fields:

User created fields which contain Date and Time data are listed.

Auditable fields:

Item Stored Date and Time
Create Date and Time
Document Date and Time
Field Value Modification Date and Time
Index Date and Time
Retrieval Date and Time

For example, to delete the specified data 10 months after the data was Indexed, select 10 months (using the Remove data when the current date is at least option) and then select Index date and Time from the list of Auditable fields.

Data tab

Type of data to be removed

Data Items – select this option to delete all data at the specified time (when the criteria are met).

Metadata – select this option to delete the Metadata at the specified time (when the criteria are met). The Index values and Transaction values associated with a document make up the Metadata.

Transaction data – select this option to delete the Transaction data at the specified time (when the criteria are met). Transaction data is data which is stored using Transaction fields.

Full text data – select this option to delete all data which is stored via Full Text Indexing at the specified time (when the criteria are met).

Audit field values – select this option to delete the Audit data at the specified time (when the criteria are met). Item Stored Date and Time and Indexing User are examples of Audit information.

Edit

The Edit button is active when a configured Retention Policy is selected. Click Edit to open the selected Retention Policy in the Retention Policy Editor, enabling you make changes to the policy, as required.

  • Was this article helpful?