Skip to main content
Mitratech Success Center

Sending a Question

Clients can send an inquiry about an entry to the firm who submitted it. The resulting conversation becomes part of the matter history. Any users that have access to view a matter can access these conversations to see what disputes may have been raised and how they were resolved.

To start the conversation:

  1. On an Entries list, click the question mark in the Follow Up column for that entry.

  2. The default subject line for the conversation is "<Matter Name> on <Date> @ <Time>" where <Matter Name> is the name of the matter and <Date> and <Time> are the date and time that the time entry was created. If you want a different subject line, type your subject in the Subject field.

  3. To mark the message as urgent, click the Urgent toggle to select Yes. A red urgency flag will appear in the Inbox next to the conversation, and a notification will be sent to the recipient daily for the next 5 days unless the recipient responds.

  4. Type your message in the Message field. If left blank, the default message to the firm will read "<Client> has requested some additional information on the following time entry:"

  5. When you are finished, click Ask Question.

The firm receives an email with a notification that the client has requested additional information.

To reply, the firm clicks the Follow Up button in the email.

  • If the notified recipient does not have a Viewabill login, the Follow Up button in the notification email allows the user limited access to a response form. The form is available for 30 days or until the recipient responds, whichever comes first. For security reasons, the recipient can only open the form only from that individual email. The notified recipient is the billing partner that the firm has assigned to the matter, who might not be the same person as the timekeeper shown for the specific entry. 

  • If the notified recipient does have an account, the recipient is requested to log into the account in order to complete the response form.

When the recipient completes the response form and clicks Send Response, the response is saved in the conversation.

  • Was this article helpful?