Skip to main content
Mitratech Success Center

Workflow Design Quick Reference Guide

Workflow Designs are used to create formal review and approval procedures. The following information describes the process where a publication can be shared with one or more people for review and provide their comments to accept or reject one or more publications.

Best Practice:  Document and apply naming conventions to your Rules. 

Capture W1.PNG

Click on Workflow design on the navigation sidebar.

Capture W2.PNG

Click on Create on the new workflow button in the lower right-hand corner of the screen.

Capture W3.PNG
Start Step and New Step Selections  

Left-clicking on the Start icon changes it from grey to orange, indicating that Step is active and can Workflow selections can be added or edited. 

Capture W4.PNG

Tip:  Clicking on a field in the Workflow Actions Pane displays an explanation of that field at the bottom of the pane. 

Capture W5.PNG

Step Name.  This must be a unique name for the Step.

Capture W6.PNG

Description:  This is an optional field. 

Best Practice:  Make the Descriptions detailed to avoid confusion and save time when assigning Workflow designs.

Capture W7.PNG

Show feedback to all participants. If this is selected, participants can view feedback made to the document(s) by other users after they have performed an Action.

Capture W8.PNG

Duration. Enter the length of time you would like this Step to be completed in.

Capture W9.PNG

Send notifications. Select this option if you want all participants who can perform an Action from this Step to be notified when this Step is reached.

Capture W10.PNG

Notification message. The message you enter in the text box will be added to the notification email.

Capture W11.PNG

Send reminders. Select this option if you want to send reminder emails to the participants of this Workflow.

Capture W12.PNG

Reminder frequency. Determines how often reminder emails are sent. Select how often you would like to send out reminder notification emails to the participants of this Workflow.

Capture W13.PNG

Reminder message. This text box allows a message to be included in the email reminder message.

Capture W14.PNG

Notify owners on overrun. Select this option if you want to send notifications to the Owners of any documents using this Workflow when this Step exceeds the configured duration.

Capture W15.PNG

Overrun notification frequency. Select how often you would like to send out overrun notifications to document Owners once the duration has been exceeded for this Step.

Capture W16.PNG

Overrun notification message. The message you enter in the text box will be added to the overrun notification email and allows you to give additional information to document Owners.

Capture W17.1.PNG

End Step Selections

Note:  There must always be an End Step in a Workflow.
 

Enter a Name and Description for this step.

Capture W20.PNG

Notify owners. Select this option if you want to send a notification message to the document Owners when reaching this Step.

Capture W21.PNG

Owner notification message. This message entered in the text box will be added to the email and sent to document Owners when reaching this Step.

Capture W22.PNG

Add Step

Clicking the Add step button at the bottom of the pane will create another step in the Workflow designer pane. 

Capture W23.PNG

Delete Step:

Note:  Steps can only be deleted if there are more than two steps in the Workflow. 

There are three types of Actions used with Workflow:  Accept, Reject and Forward.   The Action types are selected by choosing the appropriate colored arrow from the Step icon.

Capture W24.PNG
Workflow Actions  

Workflow Actions link the steps together.   

There are three types of Actions used with Workflow:  Accept, Reject and Forward.   The Action types are selected by choosing the appropriate colored arrow from the Step icon. 

Green arrow icon = creates an Accept Action.

Red arrow icon = creates a Reject Action.

Blue arrow icon = creates a Forward Action.

Capture W25.PNG

Drag and drop an Action between steps to link the steps.

Capture W26.PNG

Clicking on the Action icon in the Workflow designs pane displays the Action options in the right pane.

Capture W27.PNG

The options common to the Accept, Reject and Forward Actions are:

 

Action Name - The name of the Action when the Workflow is viewed in the participants Inbox. This field is required.

 

Participants - Choose the participants that will be allowed to execute the action by clicking on the … icon and selecting the desired participants.

Capture W29.PNG

Reason - This text box allows you to enter reasons for the action.

Capture W28.PNG
Accept Actions Options  

There are two available Accept options to choose from:

All participants must accept and

Minimum participants required to accept. 

When Minimum participants required to accept is selected, you are prompted to specify the minimum number approvers that are required for this action. 

Capture W30.PNG

Reject Action Options

 

There are two Reject options to choose from:

Reject immediately and

Wait for all responses

Capture W31.PNG
Forward Action Options  

When Allow new revision is selected it allows one of the reviewers to create a new revision of one or more documents in the review while performing the action.

Capture W32.PNG
Delete Action  

To Delete an Action, left click on the icon in the Workflow designer pane and then Click on the Remove action button at the bottom of the screen. 

Capture W33.PNG
Validate Workflow Design  

Clicking on the Validate button will authenticate the document workflow.

Capture W34.PNG

If the approval flow fails validation, the reasons for the failure are listed in a red dialoge box on the bottom of the pane.  This pane will close once all errors have been rectified and the Validate button is selected again.

Capture W35.PNG

When all Workflow Steps and Actions are completed and have passed Validation, the Workflow Design can be activated by clicking on the Activate button. 

Capture W36.PNG

 

  • Was this article helpful?