Skip to main content
Mitratech Success Center

Users

On the User Management page, you can display a User’s name and Role. You can also change the Role the User belongs to and activate or deactivate a User.

image

Groups And Roles

The Groups tree can be expanded to show the contents of each Group (node) in the tree. When a Group contains Users, the First name, Surname and Role name are displayed for each User belonging to that Group.

Roles are listed below the Groups. Select a Role to display the First name, Surname and the Role name for each User in that Role.

To change a User’s Role, doubleclick on the Role name and select a new Role from the dropdown list. The User is removed from the current Role and is put in the selected Role.

Group Menu

Rightclick on a Group in the Groups and Roles pane to display the Group menu.

image

Reporting

Reports can be generated to provide compliance and audit information about Groups. Rightclick on a Group and select Reporting from the menu. See Reporting” for more information on Group reports.

Users

The Users pane displays the Users belonging to the selected Group or Role. By default, the names are alphabetically sorted (A to Z) under the First name column. The number of Users in the Users pane is displayed in brackets.

Searching For Users’ Names

To search for a particular User, type the first part of either the first name or surname into the Search users text box, then press Enter or click on the Search button.

image

Searches are applied to all active accounts (and, when Show inactive accounts is selected, inactive accounts too), regardless of which Group or Role is selected in the Groups and Roles pane. Any text entered in the Search users box must be located at the beginning of the First name or Surname to match the search.

All the Users returned from a search (Chris in the above example) are displayed under the Users heading by First name, Surname, Role name and Member of.

To search for an exact match, select Only return users that match exactly. In this example, if Only return users that match exactly is selected, only the two Users called Chris will be displayed.

Member of displays the Groups the User belongs to. When the User is a member of several Groups which cannot all be displayed, hover the mouse over the list to display a tooltip showing all the Groups.

By default, the names are alphabetically sorted (A to Z) under the First name column. Each heading can be individually sorted by clicking on the heading.

Filtering Users’ Names

When there are names in the Users pane, these names can be filtered to reduce the names displayed. Enter the text you want to be present in all the names in the Users pane. The names in the Users pane are filtered and only those matching the text in the filter box are displayed.

The text in the Filter users... box will match a User name if the text is found (exactly as typed) anywhere in the name. Filters are applied to the Users who are returned from a search, or who belong to the selected Group or Role, as appropriate.

For example, if, after performing the search described above, the letter a is entered in the filter text box, only those User accounts in the list which have an a anywhere in either their First name or their Surname will be displayed.

Changing The Role

A User’s Role can be changed by doubleclicking on the Role name for that User and then clicking on the arrow to display a dropdown list of available Roles. Select the new Role from the list.

image

Alternatively, a User can be moved to a different Role by selecting the User in the Users pane and dragging them to a Role in the Groups and Roles pane. Multiple Users can be selected by holding down the Ctrl key while clicking on all the required Users. Consecutive Users can be selected by holding down the Shift key and clicking on the first User in the list and the last User in the list.

In the example below, Alison is currently a member of the Role Administrator, but this User is being moved to the Role Publisher.

image

User Menu

Rightclick on a User in the Users pane to display the User menu.

image

Activate

Select Activate to activate the selected User account. The User will be able to log in to PolicyHub when their account is active.

Deactivate

Select Deactivate to deactivate the selected User account. The User will not be able to log in to PolicyHub while their account is inactive.

Reporting

Reports can be generated to provide compliance and audit information about Users. Rightclick on a User and select Reporting from the menu. See Reporting” for more information on User reports.

Display Options

There are two options near the bottom of this page:

  • Show inactive accounts – When cleared, inactive User accounts are not displayed. When selected, inactive accounts are displayed. Accounts are made active or inactive from within PolicyHub. See User Menu” for information on activating and deactivating User accounts.
  • Show disabled accounts – When cleared, disabled User accounts are not displayed. When selected, disabled User accounts are displayed. Disabled User accounts have the icon: image

Accounts are disabled or enabled externally and cannot be changed from within PolicyHub.

  • Was this article helpful?